LDSL – Kennedy Cup Side – secure a 2-1 win v Kerry League.

Well done to all the Kennedy Cup Side – who secured a second win (2-1) v Kerry, in the group stages of the Kennedy Cup in UL on Sunday 03rd Oct. 2021, putting them now in a strong position in the group. Everyone at the LDSL extends our thanks to all the players representing their clubs and the LDSL so well, our management team for their efforts in guiding the team, and finally, you the parents/guardians in supporting the team. You all are doing us proud.

We played the Kerry League yesterday in U.L in the second round of our group stage  games and won 2-1 after a very exciting game. Jayden O’ Donovan and Aaron Cusack scored the  goals for our team. Kerry scored first early in the second half but we responded very well and took the game to Kerry and Jayden O Donavon scored from the spot  to make it 1 -1 . Both sides worked hard to try and get the all important winner but as the game moved into the last 15 mins we got more on top and with 5mins to go Aaron Cusack scored the all important goal. When he took on the Kerry full back ,cut into the box from the left wing and produced a wonderful strike with his right foot into the top corner which gave the Kerry Goalkeeper no chance to the delight of the big crowd of Limerick  supporters. Kerry went all out to try and find a way back but our back four, Shane Dolan ,Jake Houlihan , Jamie Mitchell Capt and Ethan Joyce and goalkeeper Ethan Barry played fantastic all day and closed down every Kerry attack. 

Squad names and clubs below 

1. Aaron Cusack (Pike Rovers), 2. Jake Houlihan (Pike Rovers), 3. Reece Barry (Pike Rovers), 4. Rian Goggins (Pike Rovers), 5. Jayden O’Donovan (Pike Rovers), 6. Lee Maguire (Pike Rovers), 7. Diego Galero (Pike Rovers), 8. Ethan Joyce (Pike Rovers), 9. Jamie Mitchell (Pike Rovers), 10. Scott Maguire (Pike Rovers), 11. Shane Finucane  (Pike Rovers), 12. Cillian Clifford (Aisling Annacotty), 13. Shane Dolan (Aisling Annacotty), 14. Kallum O’Shea (Aisling Annacotty), 15. Sean Costelloe (Aisling Annacotty), 16 Aaron Kelly (Aisling Annacotty), 17. Ethan Barry (Regional), 18. Cullen Wiegend (Regional), 19. Ruairi Mullins (Regional), 20. Jamie Faulker  (Regional), 21. Darragh Newman (Corbally)

Our Management team is as follows 

Manager/ Coach  Niall Byrnes, Coaches  –  Declan Considine , Joe Flanagan , Anthony Hayes , First Aid – Declan Earls.